ONE DOOR CLOSES, ANOTHER OPENS (published on Bettyconfidential.com)

 

ONE DOOR CLOSES, ANOTHER OPENS!

Back in July of last year, the company I worked for over 11 years lost the account that I worked on.  The inevitable laying off of many wonderful people and close friends soon followed.

At the time, I was annoyed, pissed off―call it what you will―at the need to put my resume together and pound the pavement for the ever-elusive new job! What I didn’t realize at the time is that the old cliché is so true, “when one door closes, another one opens!”

While I toiled at sending my resume out via e-mail and setting up job interviews , a wonderful opportunity came my way via my soon-to-be defunct job.  The company that won the account was interviewing people with experience to work at the new firm .

At first I thought, “This is lame!” I can’t see myself working on this again after I worked on it for over 11 years.  What I didn’t realize was that I’d get a promotion, have more input within the department, and have more say on the account. While this may seem like a small thing, the opportunity this brought gave me a renewed joy in my life―career wise.

So the next time you get laid off and think your life is over or set back, remember that change is inevitable and can be a good thing, and that new possibilities can be found right under our noses. So go out and open that door!

Article from Betty Confidential published a few years ago.http://bettyconfidential.com/tag/camille-siegel/

 

 

Leave a Reply

